Inspiration and encouragement

I feel like of late I have been receiving a lot of inspiration and encouragement. Inspiration to *do* things and to make things happen and encouragement that yes I really can!

From a young age I day dreamed a lot, inspired by stories on the news, tales from books I had read, scenes I saw while walking along and by people around me. I imagined life when I was an adult (and had long black curly hair, nothing like my hair is but I imagined it would change to be like that because I wanted it to be). My inspiration came from a myriad of sources and then off I went into my own world of dreams.

Then I grew older, life was taking a course, maybe not the one I wanted, but I didn’t really know what I wanted. I began to rely more on encouragement to achieve things. My confidence took a huge knock back after my first year at University. I stopped dreaming and started worrying. No longer inspired to do things, be someone, but just to get by. J was my absolute rock for me during this time, I wouldn’t be where I am right now without him.

Then a few months ago life took this huge turn and change and I’ve been given the opportunity to dream again, what do I want to do, what do I want to achieve. I am being constantly inspired to do things, by bloggers who write posts about all they have done, by tweeters who tell me about the kick ass days they have had, the run they have been on, by my husband who is working so hard to make this all a success and by my family who have done so much for me and continue to be there.

And encouraged, one mustn’t forget the encouragement. You guys have just been the most wonderful support. Helping me to believe that yes I can do these things.

I hope I shall continue to dream and to be inspired, hopefully perhaps also to inspire and always to try and encourage dreams. Because without dreams, well…

12 comments

  1. Clare

    I feel like there should be a ‘like’ button for this. Except by saying that, I’m admitting that I have been brainwashed by social media websites. Ack. Anyway, I do ‘like’ this post. Very much.

  2. Rose

    I don’t have any trouble dreaming but making the dreams become real- it takes so long and sometimes I lose the will- still must keep on keeping on!

    • wifenewcity

      yes very true. Sometimes I like having dreams just to be able to have dreams. Even if I know they’ll never come true it’s nice having them there to fall back on when everything else is pants.

  3. Cate Subrosa

    We lift each other up. It feels incredible to be part of a community of women who want to do that for each other. I too am so grateful for this sisterhood we’ve found. And I too have been where you described with knocked confidence. Maybe that’s why we appreciate it so much.

    Thank you. So nice to read a post about this. x

    • wifenewcity

      It is incredible, I think that’s really what I was trying to say. The support and the willingness to do that for each other. Especially when you hear about blogging communities where it gets snipey and bitchy. And yes being down certainly makes you appreciate the ups!

  4. agirlwrites

    What Cate said.

    And it’s hard to be both a dreamer and doer sometimes. At least, it is for me. I am always grateful for the inspiration you ladies provide.

  5. Julia (Color Me Green)

    blogs are a great source of inspiration. i think they were really helpful when i spent all my time with someone who thought life was shit and i was like, no because of blogs i know there are other people out there who can see potential in all the things big and small that life has in store. i am excited to see where your dreams take you…

  6. Kristy

    Ditto Rose and Cate and agirl. I love this community we’ve found and built – there for the kick in the tush or the hand up that you need. xoxo

  7. Laura

    As well as a like button for the post, can I suggest an agree button for the comments?!

    Dreaming and doing are wonderful things. I’m so glad that you have the opportunity to do both.

    And thank you for all the encouragement you give out – it’s karma 🙂

    x

Leave a Reply

