It’s never too cold for ice cream

Last week I wanted to make bread, I had forgotten about the oil we had burnt in the oven and the acrid smoke this belched out rendering the oven useless until cleaned. I thus had to abandon my bread making dreams. Still wanting to make something though I decided perhaps ice cream was the better way to go, after all that definitely doesn’t need the oven.

Inspired by a post which agirl wrote last year I figured I’d go for Cardamom ice cream again. I’d made it once before and it was yummy, plus not the kind of flavour you tend to find in the shops.

You start by heating up 500ml of double cream (heavy whipping cream here in the US) with milk (ideally full fat). As I only had 2% milk I went heavy on the cream, probably doing a 70:30 mix rather than the recommended 50:50. Heat gently with the cracked cardamom pods, I also added a cinnamon stick and some sprinkles of ground nutmeg and cinnamon, I liked the extra flavours of nutmeg and cinnamon. Bring it just to the boil and then leave to infuse with all the flavours you’ve added.

Then whisk up 6 egg yolks with 100g sugar. I’ve seen recipes with anywhere from 65g – 125g so I went for 100g so as not to be too sweet but to have enough sweetness.

Slowly add in the cooled, infused milk (through a sieve, you don’t want all the lumpy pods etc) and whisk. If the milk has been cooled it shouldn’t curdle but whisk hard to make sure it doesn’t. You should end up with a custard that looks something like the above.

Pour custard into pot/container and stick in freezer, mix with fork every 1-2 hours until frozen. Or if you are lucky enough use an ice cream maker! Mine worked well without, and much better than when I tried it last with only milk and no cream.

Then dig in and feel very proud. Because it tastes amazing! If I do say so myself. If someone special is lucky enough perhaps share with them too… Enjoy!

5 comments

  1. Joan Hunter Dunn

    Looks delicious and even better I’ve just remembered that with our new larger fridge I can now attempt to make ice cream… Off to look at recipes for ice cream. Thank you for posting this.

  2. Metropolitan Mum

    That looks great, just like proper ice cream.
    I don’t have an ice cream maker, so mine always ends up being rock hard and un-spoonable. But an ice cream maker would be my downfall, I think… ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

